Wal King AO

Non-Executive Chairman, Independent Director

Wal King holds a Bachelor of Engineering, a Master of Engineering Science and an Honorary Doctorate of Science from the University of New South Wales.  Wal has worked in the construction industry for over 40 years and was CEO of Leighton Holdings Limited from 1987 until December 2010.  Mr King is the Non-Executive Chairman of Built Holdings Pty Limited and is a Director of Kimberley Foundation Australia Limited; and was up until May 2017 one of the longest serving Directors of Coca-Cola Amatil Limited.

He is a former Board Member of the Business Council of Australia, a former Council Member of the University of New South Wales and former Deputy Chairman of the UNSW Foundation Limited, and was President of the Australian Constructors Association from its inception in 1994 to December 2010. Mr King is an Honorary Fellow of the Institution of Engineers Australia; a Foundation Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management, the Australian Institute of Building and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering. Wal joined the TerraCom Ltd board in May 2017.

Honourable Craig Wallace

Deputy Chairman, Independent Director

Mr Wallace served as the State Minister for Main Roads, Fisheries and Marine Infrastructure from 2009 to 2012. His departments delivered major infrastructure projects across Queensland including the Gateway Bridge and rebuilding of Queensland Road assets following major floods.

He was a member of the Executive Council of Queensland, a member of Roads Australia and a Patron of the Committee for Infrastructure and Logistics Australia.

In 2012 he formed Shanghai Commonwealth Investment and Consulting (which is operating mainly in China). The company has a focus on building trade ties between China and Australia with a particular focus on food products.


Tsogt Togoo

Independent, Non-Executive Director

Mr Tsogt has close to two decades of experience in the Mongolian public sector. He worked in the senior management of the Mongolian National Oil company and was in charge of the commercial and operational functions of the company, such as petroleum product imports and internal distribution to filling stations.

Mr Tsogt also worked as the head of the Privatisation Division of the State Property Committee and has played extensive roles in the privatisation of Mongolia’s most valuable state-owned companies. He was in charge of the privatisation of the national oil and aviation companies, restructuring power generation and energy distribution enterprises and the deregulation of the energy, oil, aviation and mining sectors.

Mr Tsogt has a Masters of Business Administration from the Leeds University Business School, United Kingdom and Master of Economics and Bachelor of Economics degrees from the Mongolian State University of Agriculture with First Class Honours.

Philip Forrest

Independent, Non-Executive Director

Philip Forrest has lived in South East Asia for over 30 years and has contributed to the commercial relationship between Australia and Asia.

Since 1991, Mr Forrest has headed three international banks (Westpac, NatWest and ANZ), with wide-ranging regional responsibilities. His most recent banking position was Asia Head for ANZ Bank, with responsibility for all of the Bank’s activities in eleven countries ranging from Japan to Indonesia.

Philip is currently a Director of The Australian Chamber of Commerce, Singapore and a Member of the Governing Council of the Singapore Institute of Directors. Philip is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and CPA.

Jim Soorley AM

Independent, Non-Executive Director

Jim Soorley was the Lord Mayor of Brisbane from 1991 to 2003, presiding over an annual budget of $1.6 billion and a workforce of 7,000. Jim lists his greatest achievement as Lord Mayor as transforming Brisbane from a city with a ‘country town’ mentality into a vibrant urban metropolis, without compromising its livability.

Since leaving the Mayoralty, Jim has worked as a consultant for government and business across a range of issues relating to sustainable development, partnerships between government and corporations, and environmental initiatives. Jim currently holds other board positions at Unitywater and CS Energy.

Matthew Hunter

Non-Executive Director

Matthew has more than 20 years’ experience in the finance industry, most recently with over 10 years’ experience in private equity investment.

Matthew founded Rivendell Capital in early 2016 to provide capital and advisory services to small and medium sized enterprises and specialised projects. Prior to founding Rivendell Capital, Matthew was a Managing Director of The Carlyle Group. He also served on the Board as a Non-Executive Director of both Coates Hire and Healthscope, two of the largest private equity transactions undertaken in Australia.

Matthew is OCP Asia’s nominee director. He is presently Non-Executive Director of Silver Heritage Group Limited, Chairman of Measure Australia, a Non-Executive Director of Medirent, Advisory Board Member of AtlasTrend and Consultant engaged by OCP Asia (TerraCom’s largest shareholder and debt holder).

Paul Anderson

Non-Executive Director

Paul has over 30 years’ experience in senior executive management roles in both the public and private sector.

Mr Anderson holds formal qualifications in Building Surveying, Engineering, Planning and Management is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Paul is Bonython Coal No 1 Pty Limited’s (Bonython) nominee director and Bonython is a substantial shareholder of the Company and was the sole sub-underwriter of the rights issue from earlier this calendar year.